Canberra Heat.

Team Short Name:
Les Young
Ast. Coach:
Russ Borgeaud
2Ast. Coach:
Michael Watson
Courtney Martin
Jake 'Dax' Larkin, Peter Garbutt

Canberra Heat Volleyball Club is the longest serving club in the Australian Volleyball LeagueCanberra Heat Men began life as the Canberra Cobras in 1998, then renamed to Canberra Chiefs in 1999 before becoming the Canberra Heat in 2002. The club fields both Men's and Women's teams in the Australian Volleyball League.  Most players have progressed through the Canberra Heat Volleyball Academy and also play for Volleyball ACT affiliated clubs in the Capital Volleyball League during the off season.


Heat Men were national champions in 2011 and 2015; runners up in 1999, 2002, 2005, 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2018; and bronze medalists in 1998, 2001, 2003, 2010 and 2017. The Heat Men also secured 9th place at the 2018 Asian Club Championships in Myanmar and 10th place at the 2017 Asian Club Championships in Vietnam.  Coach Young has contracted a range of new young talent and returning experience into the side in 2019 to replace a number of players that have secured international professional contracts and college scholarships.  With these lineup changes, the team has some hard work ahead if they wish to take the championship title in 2019.


The Heat host AVL from the Australian Institute of Sport.

League results

Rank Played Won Lost Drawn GD League Points
2 10 8 2 0 14 23

Latest matches

Date Team Location Match Result
10.11.2019 11:00 Adelaide Storm.Home
16.11.2019 19:00 QLD Pirates.Away
17.11.2019 13:00 QLD Pirates.Away
07.12.2019 12:00 Melbourne Vipers.Home
08.12.2019 14:30 QLD Pirates.Away