The 2018 AVL Championship commenced in Melbourne this morning with 12 men’s and 11 women’s teams competing from around Australia.

A total of 56 matches will be played to across the weekend to determine the ultimate winners of the men’s and women’s Gold Medal and coveted titles of Australian Volleyball League Champions.

In the early rounds this morning, Canberra Heat (Women) defeated the current National Champions Melbourne University Blues.  Uni Blues have been the National Champions for the past 5 years

In the men’s division both competition heavy weights Qld Pirates and Canberra Heat had comfortable 3 – 0 match wins in the first round.

All draws, results and competition ladders are located on the AVL website: